Saturday, June 3, 2017

Coca-Cola Cities Edition Aluminum Bottle Spain 2017










What is Big Ben?
The Houses of Parliament and Elizabeth Tower, commonly called Big Ben, are among London's most iconic landmarks and must-see London attractions. Technically, Big Ben is the name given to the massive bell inside the clock tower, which weighs more than 13 tons (13,760 kg).  The clock tower looks spectacular at night when the four clock faces are illuminated.
When was Big Ben Built?
The Palace of Westminster was destroyed by fire in 1834. In 1844, it was decided the new buildings for the Houses of Parliament should include a tower and a clock.

A massive bell was required and the first attempt (made by John Warner & Sons at Stockton-on-Tees) cracked irreparably. The metal was melted down and the bell recast in Whitechapel in 1858. Big Ben first rang across Westminster on 31 May 1859. A short time later, in September 1859, Big Ben cracked. A lighter hammer was fitted and the bell rotated to present an undamaged section to the hammer. This is the bell as we hear it today.

You can visit the Whitechapel Bell Foundry and discover more about Big Ben's origins.

How Tall is Big Ben?
Elizabeth Tower stands at over 96 metres (105yrds) tall, with 334 steps to climb up to the belfry and 399 steps to the Ayrton Light at the very top of the tower.

Where is Big Ben?
Big Ben is found in the Elizabeth Tower at the north end of The Houses of Parliament in Westminster, Central London, next to the river Thames.

There are a several London bus routes that go past the tower, and Westminster Tube station is directly across the road, serviced by the Jubilee, District and Circle lines. Westminster pier is next to the tower and is served by a number of river bus travel options.

Why is Big Ben Called Big Ben?
The origin of the name Big Ben is not known, although two different theories exist.

The first is that is was named after Sir Benjamin Hall, the first commissioner of works, a large man who was known affectionately in the house as "Big Ben".
The second theory is that it was named after a heavyweight boxing champion at that time, Benjamin Caunt. Also known as "Big Ben", this nickname was commonly bestowed in society to anything that was the heaviest in its class.






The Statue of Liberty
The Statue of Liberty (Liberty Enlightening the World; French: La Liberté éclairant le monde) is a colossal neoclassical sculpture on Liberty Island in New York Harbor in New York City, in the United States. The copper statue, a gift from the people of France to the people of the United States, was designed by French sculptor Frédéric Auguste Bartholdi and built by Gustave Eiffel. The statue was dedicated on October 28, 1886.

The Statue of Liberty is a robed female figure representing Libertas, the Roman goddess. She holds a torch above her head, and in her left arm carries a tabula ansata inscribed in Roman numerals with "JULY IV MDCCLXXVI" (July 4, 1776), the date of the U.S. Declaration of Independence. A broken chain lies at her feet. The statue became an icon of freedom and of the United States, and was a welcoming sight to immigrants arriving from abroad.

Bartholdi was inspired by French law professor and politician Édouard René de Laboulaye, who is said to have commented in 1865 that any monument raised to U.S. independence would properly be a joint project of the French and U.S. peoples. Due to the post-war instability in France, work on the statue did not commence until the early 1870s. In 1875, Laboulaye proposed that the French finance the statue and the U.S. would provide the site and build the pedestal. Bartholdi completed the head and the torch-bearing arm before the statue was fully designed, and these pieces were exhibited for publicity at international expositions.

The torch-bearing arm was displayed at the Centennial Exposition in Philadelphia in 1876, and in Madison Square Park in Manhattan from 1876 to 1882. Fundraising proved difficult, especially for the Americans, and by 1885 work on the pedestal was threatened due to lack of funds. Publisher Joseph Pulitzer of the New York World started a drive for donations to complete the project that attracted more than 120,000 contributors, most of whom gave less than a dollar. The statue was constructed in France, shipped overseas in crates, and assembled on the completed pedestal on what was then called Bedloe's Island. The statue's completion was marked by New York's first ticker-tape parade and a dedication ceremony presided over by President Grover Cleveland.

The statue was administered by the United States Lighthouse Board until 1901 and then by the Department of War; since 1933 it has been maintained by the National Park Service. Public access to the balcony surrounding the torch has been barred for safety reasons since 1916







Amsterdam 
Windmills (molens) were an integral part of Dutch life for centuries, employed for industrial purposes like milling grains or draining the lowlands of excess water. More than 10,000 windmills once dotted the Dutch landscape, and there are still 8 in Amsterdam.

Every year in mid-May, the country celebrates National Windmill Day when windmills throughout the Netherlands are decorated with flowers, figures of angels or Dutch flags, and doors are thrown open to visitors. Listed below is a sampling of windmills to visit in and around Amsterdam any time of year.

De Gooyer is bound to go down well with those fond of a tipple - Brouwerij 't IJ next door serves a range of traditional Dutch beers brewed on site. This is the tallest wooden windmill in the Netherlands and is a listed monument. The windmill itself is not open for visitors, but that doesn't seem to matter when you're sitting alongside it on the sunny terrace with a cool beer.

De Otter is located in Amsterdam West and was built around 1631. It is the last remaining windmill of its kind in the city, as the other sawmills were dismantled by the early 1900s. As such, it is now considered a monument and is protected from being torn down or moved. Not open for visitors.

Molen van Sloten is a reconstructed working mill from 1847 and the only mill open to visitors in Amsterdam. This tower mill works to drain water from lower-lying surroundings to keep the area dry. Guided tours are available and occasionally include the miller who shows visitors how the different parts function.

The Zaanse Schans is just 15 minutes by train from the centre of Amsterdam. This picturesque open-air "museum" is free of charge and boasts eight well-preserved windmills in one cluster. The windmills produced all sorts of items from paint to mustard to oil, and for a small fee, some of the windmills are open for visiting. Make a day of it and wander through the traditional houses, clog factories, or stop by the Windmill Museum, a 15-minute walk away.

Riekermolen was built in 1636 and is located near Amstelpark. This mill and electric pumping-engine keep the garden city of Buitenveldert dry, covering a size of 515 hectare. Not open for visitors.

D'Admiraal windmill is located in the north part of Amsterdam and operated as a chalk and ash mill until shutting down in 1954. The windmill was restored in the '60s and still works occasionally to mill raw materials. Not open for visitors.

2 comments:

  1. There's SHOCKING news in the sports betting industry.

    It has been said that every bettor needs to look at this,

    Watch this or quit betting on sports...

    Sports Cash System - Robotic Sports Betting Software.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Which is better Pepsi or Coke?
    ANSWER THE POLL and you could get a prepaid VISA gift card!

    ReplyDelete